Monday, 31 May 2010

The Three Amigos Aka The Three Gunas


In Samkya philosophy, there are three major guṇas that serve as the fundamental operating principles or 'tendencies' of Prakriti (universal nature) which are called: sattva guṇa, and rajas guṇa, tamas guṇa. The three primary gunas are generally accepted to be associated with creation (satva), preservation (rajas), and destruction (tamas). The entire creation and its process of evolution is carried out by these three major gunas
Yoga and diet: According to yoga, one must eat the right kind of food to achieve a balance between the soul, mind and body. Sattvic diet is best for yoga practitioners. But Tamasic and Rajasic foods are not good for the body and mind, and are best avoided. To discover your food types click here


To have Sattva predominant in our nature is the key to health, creativity and spirituality. Sattvic people possess an harmonious and adaptable nature which gives the greatest freedom from disease both physical and mental. They strive towards peace of mind and balance. They see life as a learning experience and look for good in all things, even in disease which they try to understand, and not suppress.

Sattva is the quality of intelligence, virtue and goodness and creates harmony, balance and stability. It is light (not heavy) and luminous in nature. It possesses an inward and upward motion and brings about the awakening of the soul. Sattva provides happiness and contentment of a lasting nature. It is the principle of clarity and peace, the force of love that unites all things together.


Rajastic people have good energy but burn themselves out through excessive activity. Their minds are usually agitated and seldom at peace. They have strong opinions and can seek power over others often regardless of the means. They are impatient and inconsistent in dealing with their problems and do not wish to take the time or responsibility to get better, and tend to blame others for their problems. They are generally in control of their lives. However, they are not awake to their spiritual purpose and can be dominated by the ego in their pursuit of happiness. Life brings them shocks, which causes them to suffer, particularly when they lose control. Even when they achieve their goals they find they are still not happy.

Rajas is the quality of change, activity and turbulence. It introduces a disequilibrium that upsets an existing balance. Rajas is motivated in its action, ever seeking a goal or an end that gives it power. While in the short term it is stimulating and provides pleasure, owing to its unbalanced nature it quickly results in pain and suffering. It is the force of passion that causes distress and conflict.


Tamasic types have deep-seated psychological blockages. Their energy and emotion tends to be stagnant and repressed and they don't know what their problems really are. They prefer not to deal with their problems or will not let other know about them, which only allows the problem to get worse.

Tamas is the quality of dullness, darkness, and inertia and is heavy and obstructing in its action. Tamas brings about ignorance and delusion in the mind and promotes insensitivity, sleep and loss of awareness. It possesses a downward motion that causes decay and disintegration.

(Information provided by Dr David Frawley.)

No comments:

Post a comment